Knox Your City
Skip Links
Visit our LinkedIn pageContact Knox City Council

Service Updates

We are prioritising critical services and some services may be reduced. This means there will be longer wait times for customers contacting us by phone. Many of our services are available online. Advice on which services can continue is changing rapidly. For regular updates, go to

Media Release - Volunteers shine at 2019 Sports and Leisure Awards

Knox Council has honoured the hard-working volunteers who are the back-bone of local sporting and leisure clubs at the annual Knox Sports and Leisure Awards held on 12 June at the Knox Civic Centre.

The awards, sponsored this year by Scoresby business Nitto Denko Australia, and proudly supported by Belgravia Leisure were established to recognise and reward volunteers as well as the clubs that have worked diligently to provide positive programs and opportunities for the community.

This year we had a record 76 nominations across all award categories. The winners were:

Club of the Year

Bayswater Junior Football Club

Best Club Initiated Program Award (joint winners)

Knox Boat Fishing Club
Ferntree Gully Cricket Club

Club Person of the Year (Adult) Award (joint winners)

Beccy Dawber - Bayswater Junior Football Club
Kevin Van Grondelle - Wantirna South Junior Football Club

Club Person of the Year (Junior) Award

Emma Smith - Eastern Raptors Rugby League Club and Touch Association

Women in Sport Leadership Award

Kate Potter - Scoresby Magpies Junior Football Club

Years of Service Awards

Awards were also presented to 17 recipients:
50 Years: Michael Stoffels (Knox City Football Club)
40 years: Keith Abblitt (Bayswater Cricket Club), Cyril Heron (Bayswater Football Club), David Wareham (Omega Trampoline Sports Club), Marion Wareham (Omega Trampoline Sports Club), Meryl Anderson (Omega Trampoline Sports Club).
30 years: Justin Polwarth (Lysterfield Cricket Club), Phil O'Shannassy (Knox Football Netball Club), Alison Rogers (Wantirna Tennis Club).
20 years: Collette Keyser (Knox Gymnastics Club), Eric Beeston (Knoxfield Tennis Club), Dean Palandri (St Johns Tecoma Cricket Club), Pierre Schumann (Knox Football Netball Club), Marion Wareham (Carrington Park Leisure Centre Management Committee), David Wareham (Carrington Park Leisure Centre Management Committee), Meryl Anderson (Carrington Park Leisure Centre Management Committee), Clive Savory (Wantirna South Netball Club).

Special guest speakers were reigning Brownlow medallist, Hawthorn Football Club’s Tom Mitchell, Deakin Boomers rising star Ezi Magbegor and Olympic Swimmer Brooke Hanson OAM who shared stories about their own sporting careers and the support they received.

Quotes attributable to Mayor, Cr Jake Keogh:

  • Congratulations to all our 2019 winners and to all those who were recognised for their many years of service to local sports.
  • These dedicated volunteers are the backbone of our local sport and leisure clubs – whether they be coaching, volunteering on committees, umpiring, running the canteen or cutting oranges. They make it possible for local sports to survive and thrive.
  • Thank you also to our major sponsor, Nitto Denko, a proud local company based in Scoresby, who have generously supported this year’s awards.

Issued: Thursday 13 June 2019
Knox Community and Council Plan 2017-2021

Knox Community and Council Plan 2017-2021 Reference:

Goal 6. We are healthy, happy and well

Strategy 6.2 - Support the community to enable positive physical and mental health.

Powered by