

STATUTORY MEETING OF COUNCIL MINUTES

HELD AT THE KNOX CIVIC CENTRE ON WEDNESDAY, 8 NOVEMBER 2016 AT 7.03PM



ROSII	NESS:	<u>Page Nos</u>
1.	COMMENCEMENT OF PROCEEDINGS	1
2.	APOLOGIES	1
3.	WELCOME TO COUNTRY	1
4.	OATH OF OFFICE	1
5.	COUNCILLOR CODE OF CONDUCT DECLARATION	2
6.	ELECTION OF MAYOR 2016/2017	2
7.	CONGRATULATORY MOTION	3
8.	RESPONSE FROM NEWLY ELECTED MAYOR	3
9.	MOTION OF THANKS	3
10.	RESPONSE FROM OUTGOING MAYOR, CR TONY HOLLA	AND 4
11.	INTRODUCTORY SPEECHES	4
12.	APPOINTMENT TO COMMITTEES 2016/17	4
13.	CLOSE OF BUSINESS	5

TONY DOYLE
CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER



PRESENT

Cr Peter Lockwood **Baird Ward** Cr John Mortimore Chandler Ward Cr Jackson Taylor Collier Ward Cr Adam Gill Dinsdale Ward Cr Jake Keogh **Dobson Ward** Cr Tony Holland Friberg Ward Cr Lisa Cooper Scott Ward Cr Darren Pearce **Taylor Ward** Tirhatuan Ward Cr Nicole Seymour

Mr T Doyle Chief Executive Officer

Dr I Bell Director – Engineering & Infrastructure

Mr A Kourambas Director – City Development

Ms J Truman Director – Corporate Development
Ms K Stubbings Director – Community Services

PRAYER, KNOX STATEMENT OF COMMITMENT AND

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF TRADITIONAL LAND OWNERS

(Read by the Chief Executive Officer, Mr Tony Doyle)

1. COMMENCEMENT OF PROCEEDINGS

The Chief Executive Officer, Mr Tony Doyle declared the meeting open at 7.03pm and extended a welcome to Councillors, staff and guests.

2. APOLOGIES

Nil



3. WELCOME TO COUNTRY

Welcome to Country by Wurundjeri Elder Georgina Nicholson

4. OATH OF OFFICE

The Chief Executive Officer presided over the new elected Councillors taking their Oath of Office in accordance with Section 63(2) of the Local Government Act 1989. The Oaths were taken in the following order:

Peter Lockwood **Baird Ward** Chandler Ward John Mortimore Jackson Taylor Collier Ward Adam Gill Dinsdale Ward Jake Keogh **Dobson Ward** Tony Holland Friberg Ward Lisa Cooper Scott Ward Darren Pearce **Taylor Ward** Nicole Seymour Tirhatuan Ward

Councillors signed the Oath of Office in the presence of the Chief Executive Officer, Mr Tony Doyle.

5. COUNCILLOR CODE OF CONDUCT DECLARATION

Councillors made a written declaration, witnessed by the Chief Executive Officer, to abide by the Councillor Code of Conduct in accordance with Section 63(3) of the Local Government Act 1989.

Baird Ward Cr Peter Lockwood Cr John Mortimore Chandler Ward Cr Jackson Taylor Collier Ward Cr Adam Gill Dinsdale Ward Cr Jake Keogh Dobson Ward Cr Tony Holland Friberg Ward Cr Lisa Cooper Scott Ward Cr Darren Pearce **Taylor Ward** Cr Nicole Seymour Tirhatuan Ward



6. **ELECTION OF MAYOR 2016/2017**

In accordance with Clause 11 of the Meeting Procedure and Use of Common Seal Local Law 2008, the Chief Executive Officer invited nominations for the office of Mayor 2016/2017.

MOVED: CR LOCKWOOD

SECONDED: CR GILL

That Councillor Darren Pearce be appointed to the position of Mayor for the Knox City Council, for the 2016/17 term.

There being no further nominations, the Chief Executive Officer declared Councillor Darren Pearce elected as Mayor of Knox City Council for 2016/17.

On election of the Mayor, immediate past Mayor, Councillor Tony Holland, assisted by the Personal Assistant to Mayor and Councillors, Mrs Eleonore Smith, placed the Mayoral Robes and Chain on the Mayor.

Mrs Susan Pearce, was presented with a gift by Councillor Holland.

Councillor Pearce assumed the Chair.

7. CONGRATULATORY MOTION

MOVED: CR HOLLAND
SECONDED: CR TAYLOR

That on behalf of the Council and residents of the municipality, congratulations be extended to Councillor Darren Pearce on being elected as Mayor of Knox City Council.

CARRIED

Councillors responded in turn congratulating the Mayor on his appointment.



8. RESPONSE FROM NEWLY ELECTED MAYOR

The Mayor responded to Council on his appointment.

9. MOTION OF THANKS

MOVED: CR MORTIMORE
SECONDED: CR LOCKWOOD

That on behalf of Council and residents of the municipality a motion of appreciation be recorded to the outgoing Mayor, Councillor Tony Holland and partner, Miss Andrea Smith

CARRIED

Councillors responded in turn acknowledging the efforts of the outgoing Mayor, Councillor Tony Holland.

The Mayor presented to the immediate past Mayor, Cr Tony Holland, the gavel, plaque and Mayor's jewel.

The Mayor acknowledged Miss Andrea Smith and her contribution as the Mayor's partner and presented her with a gift.

10. RESPONSE FROM THE OUTGOING MAYOR, CR TONY HOLLAND

Councillor Tony Holland reflected on his term of appointment, and thanked his Councillor colleagues and staff for their support during his mayoral term.

11. INTRODUCTORY SPEECHES

His Worship the Mayor invited Councillors to deliver an introductory speech in response to their election as Councillor.



Knox City Council

Introductory speeches were delivered in the following order:

Peter Lockwood **Baird Ward** Chandler Ward John Mortimore Collier Ward Jackson Taylor Adam Gill Dinsdale Ward Jake Keogh **Dobson Ward** Tony Holland Friberg Ward Lisa Cooper Scott Ward Darren Pearce **Taylor Ward** Nicole Seymour Tirhatuan Ward

The Chief Executive Officer, Mr Tony Doyle congratulated all Councillors on behalf of the Executive Management Team and staff on their appointment and also extended further congratulations to Councillor Pearce on his appointment as Mayor. Mr Doyle committed support on behalf of the staff to the Mayor and Councillors throughout their term.

12. APPOINTMENT TO COMMITTEES 2016/17

MOVED: CR SEYMOUR
SECONDED: CR COOPER

That Council adopt the attached schedule of representative appointments to the various Council and external Committees for the 2016/17 period effective from 8 November 2016.

CARRIED

13. CLOSE OF BUSINESS

The Mayor invited guests to supper in the Atrium.

MEETING CLOSED AT 8.35PM

Minutes of Meeting confirmed at the Ordinary Meeting of Council held on Tuesday 22 November 2016

Chairman