# **M**INUTES





**Statutory Meeting of Council** 

Held at the Civic Centre 511 Burwood Highway Wantirna South On

Wednesday 31 October 2018

## **Order of Business**

1	Commencement Of Proceedings	4
	Apologies	
3	Welcome To Country	4
4	Election Of Mayor 2018/19	4
5	Congratulatory Motion	5
6	Response From The Newly Elected Mayor	5
7	Motion Of Thanks To Outgoing Mayor	5
8	Response From Outgoing Mayor	5
9	Election Of Deputy Mayor 2018/19	6
10	Response From Newly Elected Deputy Mayor	6
11	Appointment Of Committees 2018/19	6
12	Close of Business	7

#### **PRESENT**

Cr P Lockwood Baird Ward

Cr J Mortimore Chandler Ward

Cr J Taylor Collier Ward

Cr A Gill (arrived at 7.02pm) Dinsdale Ward

Cr J Keogh Dobson Ward

Cr L Cooper Scott Ward

Cr D Pearce Taylor Ward

Cr N Seymour Tirhatuan Ward

Mr T Doyle Chief Executive Officer

Dr I Bell Director – Engineering & Infrastructure

Ms J Oxley Director - City Development
Mr M Fromberg Director - Corporate Services

Ms K Parton Acting Director – Community Services
Mr P McQue Manager, Governance and Strategy

#### PRAYER, KNOX STATEMENT OF COMMITMENT

#### **AND**

#### **ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF TRADITIONAL LAND OWNERS**

(Read by the Chief Executive Officer, Mr Tony Doyle)

# Commencement of Proceedings - Welcome by the Chief Executive Officer, Mr Tony Doyle

The Chief Executive Officer, Mr Tony Doyle, declared the meeting open at 7.00pm and extended a welcome to Councillors, staff and guests.

## 2 Apologies

Apologies were received from Councillor Holland.

## 3 Welcome to Country

Welcome to Country by Wurundjeri Elder Georgina Nicholson

## 4 Election of Mayor 2018/19

In accordance with Clause 11 of the Meeting Procedure and Use of the Common Seal Local Law 2018, the Chief Executive Officer invited nominations for the office of Mayor 2018/19

NOMINEE: Cr Keogh
NOMINATOR: Cr Mortimore
SECONDED: Cr Pearce

There being no further nominations, the Chief Executive Officer declared Councillor Jake Keogh elected as Mayor of Knox City Council for 2018/19.

On election of the Mayor, immediate past Mayor, Councillor John Mortimore, assisted by the Personal Assistant to Mayor and Councillors, Mrs Eleonore Smith, placed the Mayoral Robes and Chain on the Mayor.

The Mayor's Partner Ms Teagan Cairns was presented with the Alice Tew Memorial brooch and a gift by Councillor Mortimore.

The Mayor presented the immediate past Mayor, Councillor John Mortimore, the gavel, plaque and Mayor's jewel.

The Mayor acknowledged Mrs Rosamund Mortimore and her contribution as the Mayoress and presented her with a gift.

Councillor Keogh assumed the Chair

## 5 Congratulatory Motion

#### **MOTION**

NOMINATOR: Cr Taylor
SECONDED: Cr Mortimore

That on behalf of the Council and residents of the municipality, congratulations be extended to Councillor Jake Keogh on being elected as Mayor of the Knox City Council.

#### **CARRIED**

### 6 Response from the Newly Elected Mayor

The Mayor responded to Council on his appointment to the Mayoral position.

# 7 Motion of Thanks to Outgoing Mayor

NOMINATOR: Cr Lockwood SECONDED: Cr Pearce

That on behalf on behalf of Council and residents of the municipality a motion of appreciation be recorded to the outgoing Mayor, Councillor John Mortimore and partner, Mrs Rosamund Mortimore.

#### **CARRIED**

# 8 Response from Outgoing Mayor

Councillor John Mortimore reflected on his term of appointment and thanked his Councillor colleagues and staff for their support during his mayoral term.

# 9 Election of Deputy Mayor 2018/19

In accordance with Knox City Council's Deputy Mayor Policy, the Mayor invited nominations for the office of Deputy Mayor 2018/19.

NOMINEE: Cr Taylor
NOMINATOR: Cr Pearce
SECONDED: Cr Seymour

There being no further nominations, the Mayor declared Councillor Jackson Taylor elected as Deputy Mayor of Knox City Council for 2018/19.

## 10 Response from Newly Elected Deputy Mayor

The Deputy Mayor responded to Council on his appointment.

# 11 Appointment of Committees 2018/19

Appointments to the various Council and external committees were made for the 2018/19 period effective from 31 October 2018

#### **RESOLUTION**

MOVED: Cr Seymour SECONDED: Cr Cooper

That Council adopt the following schedule of representative appointments to the various Council and external Committees for the 2018-19 period effective from 31 October 2018.

Committee	2018/19 Appointments						
Specific Purpose Committees							
Audit Committee	Cr Pearce	Cr Keogh	Cr Holland				
CEO Performance Evaluation	Cr Keogh	Cr Pearce	Cr Mortimore				
Committee							
Australia Day Awards Committee	Cr Lockwood	Cr Holland	Cr Keogh				
ICT Governance Committee	Cr Keogh	Cr Pearce	Cr Lockwood				
Strategic Projects Committees							
Knox Central Advisory Committee	Cr Pearce	Cr Lockwood	Cr Keogh				
	Cr Taylor	Cr Holland					

Committee	2018/19 Appointments					
Working Groups	,					
Knox Regional Sports Working Group	Cr Gill	Cr Cooper				
Knox Hockey Working Group	Cr Taylor					
Life Stages Group						
Early Years Advisory Committee	Cr Cooper	Cr Gill				
Youth Committee	Cr Keogh	Cr Taylor				
Active Ageing Committee	Cr Seymour	Cr Mortimore				
Sustainable Development Group						
Environment Committee	Cr Mortimore					
Community Safety, Health and Wellbeing Committee	Cr Mortimore	Cr Holland				
City Futures Committee	Cr Pearce	Cr Lockwood				
Inclusive, Active and Creative Commu	nities Group					
Disability Committee	Cr Seymour					
Multicultural Committee	Cr Lockwood	Cr Taylor				
Arts and Culture Committee	Cr Lockwood	Cr Taylor				
Recreation and Leisure Committee	Cr Holland	Cr Taylor	Cr Keogh			
<b>Grants Evaluation Group</b>						
Community Development Fund	Cr Seymour	Cr Holland	Cr Keogh			
Leisure Minor Capital Works Grant	Cr Taylor	Cr Holland	Cr Keogh			
<b>External Committees</b>						
Eastern Affordable Housing Alliance	Cr Lockwood					
Eastern Alliance for Greenhouse Action	Cr Mortimore					
Eastern Regional Group of Councils	Cr Keogh	Cr Taylor				
Eastern Regional Libraries	Cr Lockwood	Cr Mortimore	Cr Cooper (sub)			
Corporation Board						
Eastern Transport Coalition	Cr Lockwood					
Knox Interfaith Network	Cr Lockwood					
Metropolitan Waste Management	Cr Mortimore					
Group						
Municipal Association of Victoria	Cr Lockwood	Cr Mortimore (s	sub)			
MAV Environment Committee	Cr Mortimore					
Victorian Local Government	Cr Taylor					
Association						

# **CARRIED**

# 12 Close of Business

The Mayor invited guests to supper in Atrium.

### **MEETING CLOSED AT 7.51PM**

Minutes of Meeting confirmed at the Ordinary Meeting of Council held on Monday, 26 November 2018

Chairperson