You need to enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to the main content

New Fire Danger Rating system

A new and simplified national Fire Danger Rating system will be rolled out next month.

The new system will be used across Australia to provide the community with clearer, and more consistent information.

Whether you are at home, or travelling interstate, you will see the same system being used.

This change is necessary because each state used different signs, and it created confusion on what actions people needed to take.

Instead of having 6 fire danger rating levels, the new system will have 4 levels: moderate, high, extreme and catastrophic.

Each level will have a clear set of actions for people to protect themselves, their family and property.

Road signs will be updated to the new system from 1 September.

Further information about the new system is available on the Vic Emergency website.

What's happening


Stay up to date with our newsletter

subscribe icon